World Acting Schools

Researched selection · reviewed 16 October 2026

Best MFA in Acting Schools

A researched, unnumbered selection of Master of Fine Arts programs in Acting, compared on verified curriculum, training structure, productions, funding, tuition and admissions — with strengths, limitations and applicant fit for each.

Unnumbered and grouped by kind of provider; within each group the order is alphabetical. This is not a league table, and no school paid to be included.

Programs that publish full tuition support

  • David Geffen School of Drama at Yale University logo

    David Geffen School of Drama at Yale University: MFA in Acting

    University · New Haven, Connecticut, United States

    Master of Fine Arts in ActingAudition required$40,750 per year, 2026-27

    Why it is here: Yale publishes full tuition support for students in its degree and certificate programs, against a listed 2026-27 tuition of $40,750. Selection is by in-person audition with two contrasting memorized pieces and final callbacks in New Haven.

    Limitations: Program length and ensemble size were not stated on the pages we checked, and living costs are not covered by tuition support alone; budget separately.

    May suit: Applicants who want a fully supported, audition-selected graduate degree with a heavy production context and can relocate to New Haven.

  • The Juilliard School: Master of Fine Arts - Drama (Acting)

    Conservatory · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Master of Fine ArtsAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: Juilliard states that its MFA in Acting is tuition-free. Graduate actors train in the same voice, movement and scene-study studios as the BFA company over four years, and auditions require four memorized monologues including heightened text.

    Limitations: A four-year MFA is long by international standards, and the published audition repertoire is demanding; check whether the cycle's requirements have changed before preparing.

    May suit: Applicants who already hold a bachelor's degree and want a long, studio-intensive training in New York City without tuition.

  • Department of Theatre, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: MFA in Acting

    University · Urbana, Illinois, United States

    MFA in ActingAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: Illinois describes a tuition-free, three-year professional actor training program built on daily four-hour studio sessions in acting, movement, and voice and speech. Auditions ask for two contrasting monologues, one classical and one contemporary.

    Limitations: Cohorts are admitted only periodically, so the program may not recruit in the year you apply.

    May suit: Actors who want a fully funded, studio-heavy MFA in a university setting and can plan around an occasional intake.

  • Wayne State University - MFA in Acting (Hilberry): MFA - Acting

    University · Detroit, Michigan, United States

    MFA in ActingAudition required$909.31 per credit, in-state residents, Fall 2026 (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Wayne State publishes a full tuition waiver and a stipend for its 60-credit MFA, built around European and American classics and contemporary plays performed in rotating repertory.

    Limitations: The stipend figure on the page we read was for 2023-24, so the current amount must be confirmed; the auditions ask for a classical verse piece and a contrasting modern one.

    May suit: Actors drawn to repertory production of classical and contemporary plays who need funded study.

Programs with a professional theatre residency or production partner

  • UC San Diego Department of Theatre and Dance: MFA in Acting

    University · La Jolla, San Diego, California, United States

    MFA in ActingAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: UC San Diego combines studio work in movement, voice, speech and singing with classical text in year two and a professional residency with La Jolla Playhouse. The department lists 10–15 productions a year, attended by invited film, television and theatre professionals.

    Limitations: Tuition and cohort size were not published on the pages we checked; the department publishes a graduate funding policy rather than a guaranteed figure.

    May suit: Actors who want production volume and a residency with a major regional theatre within a research university.

  • University of Houston, School of Theatre & Dance: MFA Acting

    University · Houston, Texas, United States

    Master of Fine Arts in ActingAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: The University of Houston's three-year MFA moves students to the Alley Theatre in the third year, where they work alongside its Resident Acting Company — a published, structural link to a professional company.

    Limitations: Tuition and funding were not published on the pages we checked.

    May suit: Actors aiming at regional and resident-company theatre who value working inside a professional company before graduating.

  • FSU/Asolo Conservatory for Actor Training logo

    FSU/Asolo Conservatory for Actor Training: MFA Acting

    Conservatory · Sarasota, Florida, United States

    MFA from the FSU School of TheatreAudition required$8,628 per year, in-state residents, Fall 2026 - Spring 2027 (+1 more)

    Why it is here: The FSU/Asolo Conservatory in Sarasota recruits about 12 graduate actors per class for a three-year program pairing classroom training with guest-artist workshops. Graduate assistantships are published, and applicants audition before any university application is made.

    Limitations: Tuition is not stated on the pages we read, and assistantship terms are not described in detail.

    May suit: Actors who want a small, conservatory-style company attached to a producing theatre in Florida.

Three-year conservatory-style MFAs in major markets

  • NYU Tisch School of the Arts - Drama and Graduate Acting: Tisch Grad Acting (MFA)

    University · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Grad Acting MFAAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: NYU's Grad Acting trains an ensemble of about 16 actors a year over three years, with film work, numerous productions and a festival of work produced by third-year students. Need-based tuition scholarships are published.

    Limitations: Scholarships are competitive and need-based, not guaranteed, and tuition was not stated on the pages we checked; New York living costs are high.

    May suit: Actors who want an ensemble-based MFA inside a large arts school in Manhattan and can manage New York costs.

  • USC School of Dramatic Arts logo

    USC School of Dramatic Arts: MFA in Acting

    University · University Park, Los Angeles, California, United States

    MFA in ActingAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: USC's three-year MFA combines classical conservatory-style training with physical and screen work, including a short film and spring showcases in the third year, in the City of Los Angeles.

    Limitations: Tuition and funding for the MFA were not published on the pages we checked; a showcase is a performance opportunity, not a promise of representation.

    May suit: Actors who want classical training together with screen work in Los Angeles.

  • Brooklyn College - Department of Theater (MFA) logo

    Brooklyn College - Department of Theater (MFA): Theater, M.F.A. - Acting specialization

    University · Brooklyn, New York City, New York, United States

    Master of Fine Arts in Theater (Acting specialization)Audition required$5,545 per term, in-state residents (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Brooklyn College (CUNY) runs a two-year MFA with an acting specialization for a cohort of eight to ten actors, who work with MFA directors, playwrights and designers and finish with a filmed showcase. CUNY publishes graduate tuition ($5,545 per term for New York residents) and lists teaching fellowships.

    Limitations: Out-of-state students pay per credit at a higher rate, and the acting-specific application deadline was not in the page text we could read.

    May suit: Actors who want a small New York City cohort at public-university tuition.

Different formats

  • Shakespeare Theatre Company Academy for Classical Acting logo

    Shakespeare Theatre Company Academy for Classical Acting: MFA in Classical Acting

    Conservatory · Washington, Washington, DC, United States

    MFA in Classical ActingAudition required$51,000 whole program

    Why it is here: The Shakespeare Theatre Company's Academy for Classical Acting is a one-year intensive in Washington, DC (MFA in Classical Acting), covering text and rhetoric, voice, speech, mask, movement and stage combat, with a published program cost of $51,000 and competitive scholarship and tuition-reduction awards.

    Limitations: One year is far shorter than other MFAs here; applicants without a bachelor's degree can complete the training but receive a certificate instead of the MFA.

    May suit: Actors with prior training who want a concentrated classical year attached to a producing Shakespeare company.

  • Ohio University School of Theater - Professional Actor Training Program logo

    Ohio University School of Theater - Professional Actor Training Program: Professional Actor Training Program (MFA)

    University · Athens, Ohio, United States

    MFA, Professional Actor Training Program (PATP)Audition required$4,928 per term, in-state residents, 2026-27 (+1 more)

    Why it is here: Ohio University's Professional Actor Training Program is a three-year MFA that admits a class of ten once every three years, with talent-based awards published.

    Limitations: Because intake is triennial, most applicants will need to time their application to the recruiting year.

    May suit: Actors who want a very small cohort and can plan two to three years ahead.

Outside the United States

  • Film and Television Institute of India logo

    Film and Television Institute of India: MFA in Cinema with specialization in Screen Acting

    University · Pune, Maharashtra, India

    MFA in Cinema with specialization in Screen ActingAudition required₹46,885 per term, ET 2025-26 intake (+1 more)

    Why it is here: The Film and Television Institute of India offers an MFA in Cinema with a specialization in Screen Acting: two years and four semesters of full-time training for stage and screen, entered by audition with a prepared monologue in Hindi or English. Published fees are in Indian rupees per term.

    Limitations: It is a cinema-focused MFA, not a US-style theatre MFA, and admission runs through a national entrance process; check the current cycle.

    May suit: Screen-focused actors who want an MFA in India's film-school context, working in Hindi or English.