World Acting Schools

Researched selection · reviewed 16 October 2026

Best Acting Schools in New York City

A researched selection of acting schools with verified teaching locations in New York City's five boroughs, separated into universities, conservatories and drama schools, and acting studios, with nearby alternatives outside the city listed separately.

Unnumbered and grouped by kind of provider; within each group the order is alphabetical. This is not a league table, and no school paid to be included.

Universities and degree programs

  • The Juilliard School: Bachelor of Fine Arts - Drama (Acting)

    Conservatory · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Bachelor of Fine ArtsAudition required$57,200 per year, 2026-27

    Why it is here: A four-year BFA built on studio training in voice, movement and the Alexander Technique, taught alongside the MFA company at Lincoln Center, with liberal-arts courses for BFA students. Tuition is published ($57,200 per year for 2026-27) and auditions require four memorized monologues including heightened text.

    Limitations: Highly selective and demanding to prepare for; the separate MFA is tuition-free, the BFA is not.

    May suit: Applicants seeking a long, conservatory-intensive degree in Manhattan.

  • NYU Tisch School of the Arts - Drama and Graduate Acting: Tisch Drama undergraduate program (acting studios)

    University · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts)Audition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: Tisch places BFA students in a primary acting studio (such as the Stella Adler, Atlantic, Meisner or Strasberg studios, or the Experimental Theatre Wing) alongside a broad academic curriculum, after an audition with two contrasting contemporary monologues.

    Limitations: Tuition was not stated on the pages we checked; the studio model means training differs by studio placement.

    May suit: Students who want a full university education with intensive studio training in a named approach.

  • Pace University - Sands College of Performing Arts: Acting, BFA

    University · New York City, New York, United States

    Bachelor of Fine Arts in ActingAudition required$62,040 per year, 2025-26

    Why it is here: A conservatory-style BFA with studio acting, stage combat, voice, film and television work and a fourth-year Los Angeles industry semester; published tuition of $62,040 per year (2025-26) and artistic scholarships by audition.

    Limitations: The published tuition is for 2025-26; confirm the current year. Scholarships are competitive.

    May suit: Undergraduates who want stage and screen training with time in Los Angeles.

  • Fordham University Theatre Program: Theatre (BA) - Performance Concentration

    University · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Bachelor of Arts (BA) in Theatre, performance concentrationAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: A four-year BA in Theatre with a performance concentration at Lincoln Center, combining acting, voice, movement and text analysis with a liberal-arts degree; the department describes four mainstage and twelve studio productions a year and a final video showcase.

    Limitations: A BA, not a BFA: more academic breadth and fewer studio hours than conservatory-style degrees.

    May suit: Students who want acting within a liberal-arts BA in Manhattan.

  • Brooklyn College - Department of Theater (MFA) logo

    Brooklyn College - Department of Theater (MFA): Theater, M.F.A. - Acting specialization

    University · Brooklyn, New York City, New York, United States

    Master of Fine Arts in Theater (Acting specialization)Audition required$5,545 per term, in-state residents (+1 more)

    Why it is here: A two-year MFA with an acting specialization for a cohort of eight to ten, working with MFA directors, playwrights and designers and ending in a filmed showcase, at CUNY public tuition ($5,545 per term for New York residents).

    Limitations: Graduate applicants only; out-of-state tuition is charged per credit.

    May suit: Graduate actors who want a small cohort at public-university cost in Brooklyn.

Conservatories and drama schools

  • The Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre: Two-Year Professional Actor Training Program [2YC]

    Conservatory · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Certificate ProgramAudition required$20,500 per year, 2027-2028 (+1 more)

    Why it is here: A full-time two-year, Meisner-based certificate conservatory with voice, movement, music, text and film/TV study; tuition is published for 2027-28 and need-based financial aid is offered. Second-year places are by invitation.

    Limitations: A provider-issued certificate, not a degree; continuation into year two is not automatic.

    May suit: Actors committed to Meisner training in a full-time conservatory format.

  • Stella Adler Studio of Acting logo

    Stella Adler Studio of Acting: 3 Year Conservatory

    Acting studio · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    3 Year ConservatoryAudition required$21,000 per year, classes begin September 2, 2026

    Why it is here: A three-year full-time conservatory covering technique, scene study, voice and speech, movement, classical text and on-camera work, with final-year performances; $21,000 per year and several named scholarship funds are published. A two-year evening conservatory is also offered.

    Limitations: A conservatory completion award, not an academic degree; scholarships are partial and competitive.

    May suit: Actors who want the Adler approach full-time, or in the evening alongside work.

  • Atlantic Acting School logo

    Atlantic Acting School: Certificate Program - 2 Years: Acting (Full-Time Conservatory)

    Acting academy · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Certificate Program - 2 Years: ActingAudition required$23,000 per year

    Why it is here: A two-year full-time conservatory built on the Atlantic Technique, with script analysis, voice, speech, movement, film technique and business classes and a final production on an Atlantic stage; $23,000 per year is published and federal student aid is listed. Part-time and evening conservatories and beginner labs are also published.

    Limitations: A certificate program, not a degree.

    May suit: Actors who want a practical, technique-led conservatory with part-time options.

  • Circle in the Square Theatre School logo

    Circle in the Square Theatre School: Two Year Conservatory - Professional Theatre Workshop, Acting Track

    Conservatory · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    Two-year certificate (Professional Theatre Workshop, Acting Track)Audition required$26,000 per year

    Why it is here: A full-time two-year acting track (60 weeks) at 1633 Broadway with contemporary and Shakespearean scene study, mask, clown, voice, film, movement and music, ending in a graduation repertory series; tuition is published at $26,000 per year and entry is by prescreen video and audition.

    Limitations: A certificate program; a separate joint BFA with Eckerd College exists for students who want a degree.

    May suit: Actors who want a theatre-focused conservatory with a musical and physical emphasis.

  • The American Academy of Dramatic Arts (New York campus) logo

    The American Academy of Dramatic Arts (New York campus): Two-Year Conservatory: AOS in Acting for Film, Television & Theatre

    Acting academy · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    AOS in Acting for Film, Television & TheatreAudition required$42,350 per year, 2026-2027

    Why it is here: A full-time two-year conservatory awarding an Associate of Occupational Studies, covering technique, movement, speech, voice, script analysis and stage and on-camera performance; tuition ($42,350 per year, 2026-27) and audition requirements are published.

    Limitations: An AOS is an occupational associate degree, not a BFA; check transferability if you plan further study.

    May suit: Students who want an associate-level conservatory credential in Manhattan.

Acting studios and classes

  • HB Studio logo

    HB Studio: Acting classes (Level 1, Level 2, Level 3, Studio Practice)

    Acting studio · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    No formal awardSelection depends on pathwayPrice not published

    Why it is here: Term-based classes in the Uta Hagen tradition at a Greenwich Village studio, from Level 1 to studio practice, plus a full-time one-year Hagen Core Training ($16,000 for 2026-27) and separate young people's classes.

    Limitations: Classes are not a qualification; the youth program is listed separately from adult training.

    May suit: Adults who want structured part-time classes, or a one-year full-time option, in a long-established studio.

  • T. Schreiber Studio & Theatre logo

    T. Schreiber Studio & Theatre: One Year Acting Conservatory

    Acting studio · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    No formal awardAudition required$17,495 per year, 2026-27

    Why it is here: A full-time one-year conservatory (September to May, $17,495 for 2026-27) covering technique, voice and speech, movement, on-camera and commercial work, business workshops and a spring performance and reel semester; beginner technique classes are also published.

    Limitations: No formal award; reel and performance work are not a promise of representation.

    May suit: Actors who want a compact one-year full-time program.

  • The Barrow Group logo

    The Barrow Group: 1-Year Professional Acting Program

    Acting studio · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    No formal awardAudition required$8,095 whole program, 2027-28

    Why it is here: A one-year part-time conservatory for working actors ($8,095 for 2027-28, payment plan available) covering script analysis, scene study, monologues, film and TV, Shakespeare, industry sessions and shooting a reel; intermediate and teen ensembles are also published.

    Limitations: Part-time and non-award; entry by a short contemporary monologue.

    May suit: Working adults who need serious training outside daytime hours.

  • Magnet Theater logo

    Magnet Theater: Improv Level One

    Improvisation school · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States

    No formal awardOpen enrollment$299 per course

    Why it is here: An eight-week, open-enrollment beginner improv course ($299) moving from games to two-person and group scenes, ending in a class show, with further levels, musical improv and a separate teen class.

    Limitations: Improvisation training, not general actor training.

    May suit: Beginners and actors who want structured improv in Manhattan.

Nearby alternatives outside New York City

  • SUNY Purchase College - Conservatory of Theatre Arts logo

    SUNY Purchase College - Conservatory of Theatre Arts: Acting BFA

    University · Purchase, New York, United States

    BFA in ActingAudition requiredPrice not published

    Why it is here: A four-year sequential BFA in Acting in which each cohort works as a company, at a State University of New York campus in Purchase, Westchester County — outside the city limits but within the metropolitan area. Auditions are by two video monologues.

    Limitations: Located in Purchase, not in New York City; tuition was not stated on the pages we checked.

    May suit: Undergraduates who want a company-based conservatory BFA within reach of the city at a public university.