World Acting Schools

Master’s degree · Initial professional preparation

Theater, M.F.A. - Acting specialization

Brooklyn College - Department of Theater (MFA) · Brooklyn, New York City, New York, United States

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Master of Fine Arts in Theater (Acting specialization)
Audience & level
Adults
Format
In person2 years
Price
$5,545per term

About this program

Two-year MFA in theater with an acting specialization, run as a cohort of eight to ten actors who work with MFA directors, playwrights and designers and finish with a filmed showcase.

Offering
Degree program
Fields
Theatre acting, Actor training
Purpose
Initial professional preparation
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Master’s degree
Exact award
Master of Fine Arts in Theater (Acting specialization)
Award status
Academic awardAwarded by a degree-granting institution.
Awarding body
Brooklyn College

Structure and schedule

Duration
2 years
Delivery
In personTaught at the listed teaching location.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full-time
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Teaching location
Brooklyn College2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11210

Admissions and auditions

Audition required

Audition detail
Audition/interview appointment with the head of the concentration after the application is submitted.
Interview
Audition/interview appointment arranged with the head of the acting concentration
Prior education
Applicants must offer at least 18 to 21 credits in acting courses, or have equivalent experience or unusual talent
References
Three letters of recommendation
Writing or research sample
A two- to four-page written statement of purpose
Language requirements
F-1 or J-1 international students must submit an English proficiency exam (TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, PTE 58-63, Duolingo 105-160)
Intakes
  • Fall

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per class, per term, per year, whole program) and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate tuition, New York State residents, 12+ creditsTuition · mandatory$5,545per termIn-state residents16 October 2026Source
Graduate tuition, nonresident and international, full or part-timeTuition · mandatory$855per creditOut-of-state students16 October 2026Source

Funding

  • Graduate teaching fellowships Assistantship

    Basis not stated

    Source

  • Second-year scholarships and awards Scholarship

    Basis not stated

    Source

Performance opportunities

As published by the provider. Showcases and productions are opportunities to perform; they do not guarantee agents, auditions, casting, union eligibility or work.

Showcase
Yes
Who takes part
Filmed digital showcase at the end of the two years

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: experience level.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction