World Acting Schools

Master’s degree · Initial professional preparation

MFA - Acting

Wayne State University - MFA in Acting (Hilberry) · Detroit, Michigan, United States

Award
MFA in Acting
Audience & level
Adults
Format
In person
Price
$909.31per credit, Fall 2026

About this program

Sixty-credit MFA built around performance-guided training in European and American classics with contemporary plays in rotating repertory.

Offering
Degree program
Fields
Theatre acting
Purpose
Initial professional preparation
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Master’s degree
Exact award
MFA in Acting
Award status
Academic awardAwarded by a degree-granting institution.
Awarding body
Wayne State University

Structure and schedule

Duration
Not published
Delivery
In personTaught at the listed teaching location.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Teaching location
Wayne State University

Admissions and auditions

Audition required

Monologues
Two memorized pieces: a classical selection in verse and a modern or contemporary phrase piece
In-person audition
Yes
Audition detail
In-person audition followed by a brief interview
Interview
Brief interview
References
3 letters of recommendation

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per class, per term, per year, whole program) and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Graduate tuition per credit hour, College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts (in-state)Tuition · mandatory$909.31per credit, Fall 2026In-state residents16 October 2026Source
Graduate tuition per credit hour, College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts (out-of-state)Tuition · mandatory$1,919.08per credit, Fall 2026Out-of-state students16 October 2026Source

Funding

  • Full Tuition Waiver Tuition waiver

    Basis not stated · Full Tuition Waiver

    Source

  • Stipend (2023-2024 figure as published) Assistantship

    Basis not stated · $21,151 (2023-2024)

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, schedule, experience level.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction