Bachelor’s degree · Initial professional preparation
Actor Training Program (ATP), BFA in Theatre
University of Utah Department of Theatre · Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
- Award
- BFA in Theatre
- Audience & level
- Adults (not specified)
- Format
- In person
- Price
- $5,582.96per term, 2026-27
About this program
A conservatory-style BFA that combines general education with intensive acting, voice and speech and movement training, covering contemporary and verse drama, on-camera and audition work, stage combat, singing and dialects.
- Offering
- Degree program
- Fields
- Theatre acting, Screen acting, Voice & speech, Movement
- Purpose
- Initial professional preparation
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Bachelor’s degree
- Exact award
- BFA in Theatre
- Award status
- Academic awardAwarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Awarding body
- University of Utah
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- In personTaught at the listed teaching location.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Price Theatre Arts Building, University of Utah332 South 1400 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112
Admissions and auditions
Audition required
- Monologues
- Two contrasting monologues, memorized, from produced plays, each under 90 seconds; no film, television or self-written work
- In-person audition
- Yes
- Audition detail
- Auditions at National Unifieds (New York, Chicago, Anaheim), on campus (October 18, 2026 ATP only; February 13-14, 2027) and at partner events; applicants also submit resume, headshot, two references and a 1-2 page letter.
- References
- Names and email addresses for two professional references
- Writing or research sample
- A 1 - 2 page letter telling us your reasons for pursuing a career in acting or musical theatre
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Deadlines
- We strongly recommend that you apply to the U by December 1, 2026.
- Official instructions
- Application and audition instructions
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per class, per term, per year, whole program) and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total tuition and mandatory fees, undergraduate lower division, Utah resident, 15 credit hoursTuition · mandatory | $5,582.96per term, 2026-27 | In-state residents | 16 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Total tuition and mandatory fees, undergraduate lower division, nonresident, 15 credit hoursTuition · mandatory | $18,184.01per term, 2026-27 | Out-of-state students | 16 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| ATP audition feeAudition fee · mandatory | $30one-time, Fall 2027 admission | All studentsRefunds: Non-refundable; waiver available on request | 16 October 2026Source |
Funding
For Utah scholarship Scholarship
Basis not stated · covers eight semesters of tuition and mandatory fees
Utah residents who apply to the University by the recommended date
Western Undergraduate Exchange discounted tuition Tuition waiver
Basis not stated
Students from participating states and U.S. territories
Performance opportunities
As published by the provider. Showcases and productions are opportunities to perform; they do not guarantee agents, auditions, casting, union eligibility or work.
- Career support
- Professional experience through partner companies' apprenticeship programs while studying
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, schedule, experience level.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 16 October 2026)