World Acting Schools

Diploma · Initial professional preparation

Theatre Arts - Performance (P104)

George Brown Polytechnic - School of Media and Performing Arts (Theatre and Acting for Media) · Distillery District, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Visit Official PageOfficial AdmissionsRequest Information
Award
Ontario College Advanced Diploma
Audience & level
Adults
Format
In person3 years (6 semesters)
Price
CA$4,702whole program

About this program

Three-year full-time conservatory-style actor training programme at the Young Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto's Distillery District, leading to an Ontario College Advanced Diploma.

Offering
Conservatory / diploma training
Fields
Theatre acting, Voice & speech, Movement
Purpose
Initial professional preparation
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Diploma
Exact award
Ontario College Advanced Diploma
Award status
Vocational qualificationA vocational qualification listed in a national system or issued by a national awarding body.
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked
  • Stated by the schoolACTRA and UDAQuality mark

    Scope not stated in the source.

Structure and schedule

Duration
3 years (6 semesters)
Delivery
In personTaught at the listed teaching location.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full-time
Course dates
Starting Months: September
Teaching location
Young Centre for the Performing Arts

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions and auditions

Audition required

Monologues
Two contrasting memorized monologues (one classical 1575-1700, one contemporary after 1900), each at most 1½ minutes, from published plays; plus one unaccompanied memorized song.
In-person audition
Yes
Audition detail
Auditions take place February through May each year for the program's September start date.
Intakes
  • September
Official instructions
Application and audition instructions

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per class, per term, per year, whole program) and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Domestic tuition (program page figure)Tuition · mandatoryCA$4,702whole programDomestic students16 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
International tuition (program page figure)Tuition · mandatoryCA$19,534whole programInternational students16 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Audition feeAudition fee · mandatoryCA$50one-timeAll students16 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

Performance opportunities

As published by the provider. Showcases and productions are opportunities to perform; they do not guarantee agents, auditions, casting, union eligibility or work.

Showcase
Yes
Who takes part
Semester 5 includes Showcase Performance I.
Career support
Final-year mentorship with a seasoned theatre practitioner.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: experience level.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 16 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction